Install the app

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap Share then “Add to Home Screen”

European Union

Standing Group

Established 1995 - Number of members: 1216

Steering Committee Chair

  • Natasha Wunsch (Sciences Po Paris)

Steering Committee

  • Stefania Panebianco (Università di Catania)
  • Ana E. Juncos (University of Bristol)
  • Amie Kreppel (University of Florida)
  • Jonathan Zeitlin (University of Amsterdam) Treasurer
  • Virginie Guiraudon (Sciences Po Paris)
  • Dimiter Toshkov (Departments of Political Science and Public Administration, Universiteit Leiden) Co-Chair
  • Daniel Naurin (Universitetet i Oslo)
  • Sarah Wolff (Queen Mary, University of London)
  • Nathalie Brack (Université Libre de Bruxelles)
Visit their website
Join Standing Group


The Standing Group on the European Union (SGEU) promotes co-ordination and collaboration among political scientists interested in the blooming area of research on the EU. SGEU's main activities cover: a biennial pan-European conference; summer schools; organising and sponsoring Workshops, Panels and Sessions at ECPR events, and any major political science conference; and the maintenance of a mailing list, a news service and a website. Primarily a group of political scientists, the SGEU also fosters multidisciplinary collaboration across social science disciplines, including anthropology, economics, law, sociology, and social psychology, with a substantive focus on the EU.


The call for panels and papers at our 2022 Conference in Rome (LUISS university, 8-10 June 2022) is now open.

We are looking forward to your submissions in the 16 sections of the conference.

To view the sections and apply, please click here.

The deadline for applications is 15 December 2021


Byelaws in addition to the Standing Group Framework

1.    The Standing Group on the European Union is governed by a Steering Committee consisting of nine members elected by, and from, the Standing Group. Steering Committee members are elected for a term of four years, which is, normally, once renewable. The terms of the Steering Committee will be staggered with elections for three members taking place every two years.
2.    Depending on the circumstances the Steering Committee may wish to set up a nomination committee for the elections.
3.    Existing Steering Committee members will remain members until new members have been elected. Prior to the election, all but six of the existing Steering Committee members will resign and three new members will then be elected after having presented their candidacy.
4.    Every two years, the newly elected Steering Committee elects the Standing Group’s Chair and the Deputy Chair. Every four years the Steering Committee elects the Treasurer. The terms of these officeholders are normally once renewable.
5.    The Chair submits an annual report to the Steering Committee. The Deputy Chair is also elected with the expectation that s/he will succeed the Chair.
6.    The Treasurer is elected for a term of four years. S/he submits a financial report to the Steering Committee at the end of each calendar year. S/he also provides a financial overview at the meeting of the General Assembly normally held at the biennial meeting (see point 11 below).
7.    The Chair, Deputy Chair and Treasurer must be affiliated with ECPR member institutions. The newly elected Chair immediately notifies ECPR Central Services of the names and functions of the new Steering Committee.
8.    The Steering Committee will meet as necessary (either in person or by conference call) to take decisions. When voting on business matters, a quorum of six members is required. A majority of those participating in the vote is required to take decisions. In case of a tie, the Chair breaks the tie.
9.    The Standing Group organizes a biennial conference. The Steering Committee issues a call for proposals to host the biennial conference. Decisions about the location and the host institution of the biennial conference are taken by the Steering Committee on the basis of a public call, which has been circulated among the members sufficiently in advance, specifying the expectations and the selection criteria.
10.    As part of the decision on the host institution for the biennial conference, the Steering Committee appoints a Conference Chair that is responsible for the organization of the conference, the selection of papers and the conference budget. 
11.    During the Standing Group’s biennial conference, a General Assembly is held to which the all Standing Group members are invited. At the General Assembly, the Steering Committee provides a report about the activities and state of affairs of the Standing Group.
12.    No later than three months after each biennial conference, the Steering Committee receives and discusses a report by the Conference Chair on the organization, academic content and the financial results of the conference.
13.    The Steering Committee may decide on the organization and support of other activities that it engages in, subject to the availability of sufficient funding.
14.    The timing of the elections, mentioned in point 1 and 7 above, can be determined by the Steering Committee.
15.    Elections are usually held within three months after the biennial conference, allowing the existing Steering Committee to report to the General Assembly and the new candidates to introduce themselves at the General Assembly.