Install the app

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap Share then “Add to Home Screen”

Prizes and awards

In recognition of the contributions made to all areas of European political science, the ECPR awards six prizes each year. These prizes cover a wide spectrum of achievement, from the Jean Blondel PhD Prize awarded for the most outstanding thesis at an ECPR institution, to the Lifetime Achievement Award, presented to those individuals' whose work has contributed significantly to the furtherment of the discipline.

Cora Maas Award

The Cora Maas Award is given annually for the best evaluated course either at the ECPR Winter School or the Summer School in Methods and Techniques.

Dirk Berg-Schlosser Award

The Dirk Berg-Schlosser Award is given for outstanding pedagogy as a Teaching Assistant at the ECPR Methods School.

Hans Daalder Prize

The Hans Daalder Prize is awarded for the best paper presented at the ECPR Graduate Student Conference.

Jean Blondel PhD Prize

This annual prize is for the best PhD thesis in politics awarded to an individual from a full ECPR member institution.

Mattei Dogan Foundation Prize

The Mattei Dogan Foundation Prize in European Political Sociology is awarded by the ECPR to a scholar (or group of scholars) who has produced a major contribution to the advancement of political sociology.

Stein Rokkan Prize

The Stein Rokkan Prize for Comparative Social Science Research is awarded by the International Science Council upon the recommendation of an independent jury set up by the ECPR.

Rudolf Wildenmann Prize

The Wildenmann prize is awarded to the presenter of the best paper at the annual ECPR Joint Sessions of Workshops.

ECPR Lifetime Achievement Award

This prize is awarded on a biennial basis to a scholar who has made an outstanding contribution to european political science.

Joni Lovenduski PhD Prize in Gender and Politics

This prize is awarded biennially for an outstanding PhD dissertation in the field of gender and politics, including gender and/or sexuality studies perspectives. It is awarded with the Standing Group on Gender and Politics.

Jacqui Briggs EPS Prize

The Jacqui Briggs EPS Prize is awarded annually for the best article appearing in the previous year’s volume of the ECPR's professional journal, European Political Science (EPS).

Hedley Bull Prize in International Relations

The Hedley Bull Prize is awarded for a book which makes a substantial and original contribution to theory and/or empirical studies in any field of International Relations.

Rising Star Award

Presented annually to an outstanding PhD student or early career researcher considered to have a particularly promising future in the field of politics and international relations.

ECPR Political Theory Prize

This prize is presented annually to recognise a book which makes a substantial and original contribution to the field of Political Theory.